ALCID cooperative access scheme

What is ALCID?

ALCID COVID NOTICE: Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the ALCID access scheme is suspended until further notice.

ALCID is a co-operative access scheme in operation across a number of institutions. 

The ALCID membership card gives access to the card holder to the participating libraries across the Island of Ireland. 

All full-time academic staff and all postgraduates can avail of the ALCID scheme.

Participating institutions:

  • Dublin City University
  • Technological University Dublin
  • Mary Immaculate College
  • Maynooth University
  • National University of Ireland, Galway
  • RCSI University of Medicine and Health Sciences
  • Royal Irish Academy
  • Trinity College, Dublin
  • University College, Cork
  • University College, Dublin
  • University of Limerick
  • University of Ulster
  • Dublin Institute of Advanced Studies 
  • National College of Art & Design

The application process and distribution of ALCID cards is managed by each institution for their own staff and students and applications are made via home institution libraries.. Membership of the ALCID scheme is for one year, commencing in October. The administration of the scheme rotates among participating institutions and is currently being managed  by DCU.

Member Spotlight

NUI Galway Library

The Library of National University of Ireland, Galway, is named after James Hardiman, born in 1782, noted antiquarian and author of the standard history of Galway and other works and first Librarian of the College (1849-1855).

The Library is commencing a €39million redevelopment project to regenerate and transform the existing Library building into a state-of-the-art Library and Learning Commons. The transformed Library will be a technology-rich environment where students can collaborate, communicate and learn in an interactive fashion. The first phase of construction is expected to start in 2022.