Customer Services

What We Do

The focus of this committee is to explore and promote best practice for public/customer services within CONUL libraries.

We provide a forum for the discussion of service delivery models and associated trends and best practice in relation to customer service in libraries, both nationally, internationally, onsite and online.

We explore ways to demonstrate the value and impact of frontline services

We explore the role of user experience in shaping customer services

We work to promote best practice in the area of  Disability Services and Accessibility

We explore the use, design and evolution of library spaces

We examine emerging customer service roles, identify CPD needs and liaise with CONUL Training and Development Committee

We review collaborative access schemes and public access to CONUL member libraries

We consider the storage and circulation of library collections in the context of reading rooms services

We identify opportunities for forging partnerships with international organisations working in relevant areas of interest

Our Activities

The group meets 4 times per annum

We have just completed a review of the ALCID borrower scheme

We organise training in the area of Customer Service provision and organise a seminar every two years to showcase best practice in the CONUL libraries

Training & Courses

Show & Tell: Covid as a Catalyst for Change – Customer Service Initiatives with Impact

View the seminar presentations

6th July 2021, Online

Seminar programme

Show & Tell: All About the Customer – Initiatives with Impact

24th April 2018, DCU, St. Patrick’s Campus, Drumcondra.

Seminar Programme

Who We Are

Chair: Orla Nic Aodha (Associate Director, Public Services & Outreach, DCU Library) orla.nicaodha@dcu.ie

Deputy Chair: Alex McIlroy (Borrower Services Librarian, Medical and HSC Library, QUB) a.mcilroy@qub.ac.uk

Communications Officer: Peter Dudley (Sub-Librarian, Reading Room Services & Space, TCD) dudleype@tcd.ie

Secretary: Emma Goode (Library and IT Services Manager, James Hardiman Library, NUI Galway) emma.goode@nuigalway.ie

Doreen Lundon (User Experience and Services Librarian, UCC Library) DLundon@ucc.ie

Clare Conneally (User Experience & Engagement Coordinator, RCSI) clareconneally@rcsi.ie

Rosina Doherty-Allan (Campus Library Manager, Magee Library, UU) r.doherty-allan@ulster.ac.uk

Mary Dundon (Head of Reader Services, Glucksman Library, UL) mary.dundon@ul.ie

Michaela Hollywood (Head of Academic Services, MU) michaela.hollywood@mu.ie

Sarah-Anne Kennedy (Assistant Head of Library Services, Client & Faculty, TUD) sarahanne.kennedy@TUDublin.ie

Avril Patterson (User Services Manager, Client Services, UCD Library) avril.patterson@ucd.ie

Member Spotlight

Ulster University Library

Ulster University Library forms part of the Academic Quality & Student Experience portfolio which includes the Access Digital and Distributed Learning Department, the Academic Office, Employability and Careers, the Centre for Higher Education Research and Practice, Quality Enhancement and Campus Life.  The Library Service operates its service across each of the University’s three campuses (Belfast, Coleraine and Magee) to support learning, teaching and research.  Each campus library is a modern learning space providing integrated library services, resources, study space and student computing with generous opening hours.